A NSW Government website
Communities of Practice

Finance Professionals

The NSW Public Sector Community of Finance Professionals (CoFP) maintains an active community of finance professionals encompassing all organisations in the public sector.  The CoFP commenced for NSW Government finance professionals in 2008, was extended to NSW Local Government and Federal Government located in NSW in 2019, and the Tertiary sector in 2022.

There are benefits to individual members, agencies and the sector as a whole through promoting the sector as a place to build a professional finance career. This is achieved by facilitating the sharing of best practice, providing a strategic forum for building networks and sharing access to information and resources, senior public sector staff, and job opportunities. 

Our mission

Our Mission is to generate and maintain an active community of finance professionals encompassing all organisations in the NSW public sector that will foster and promote the sector as a place to work and build a professional career. 

Our vision

Our Vision is to be recognised and valued as an integral element of accounting and financial management improvement in the public sector.

Our value proposition

The Community of Finance Professionals will operate as a collective of practitioners and interested parties to serve as a networking and self-help group, and to share information and experiences in dealing with the challenges of financial management improvement.

Advisory Board

Office holders:

Department/Cluster Position Name
Department of Education Chair Ross Hawkey
Department of Communities and Justice Secretary  Gary Driscoll


Other members:

Department/Cluster Name
Audit Office of New South Wales David Daniels
ABC Natalie Moore
Department of Communities and Justice Amy Wang
Department of Customer Service Natalie Ahamed
Department of Communities and Justice Nadia Theore
Department of Premier and Cabinet Anita Young
Department of Planning and Environment Mervyn Yuen
TCorp John Jeffery
Transport for NSW Clement Siu
Transport for NSW  Chiraag Bhalla
Transport for NSW  Sophia Reyes
University of NSW Libby Stratford


Associate members:


Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand David Jukes
CPA Australia Rupen Malouf
Institute of Public Administration of Australia Madeleine Culbert




Joining our community


Membership is available to any person actively engaged in NSW public sector finance and accounting. This includes those working within NSW state government, NSW local government and federal government agencies located within NSW, as well as the tertiary sector located in NSW.


Our Community was created to better promote the New South Wales public sector as an employer of choice for finance professionals, and to retain those people in the sector.  Our advisory panel supports the Community to meet this goal.

The Community provides channels for communication, information-sharing and problem solving. It does this via the voluntary CoFP Board running activities and events, operating this website, including emails, and social media communication.

Join the Finance ComPrac

Use this form to join

Our events

The CoFP run five free member events each year. These events are all held online, and where available, hybrid with in-person capacity. Venues are spread across the Sydney CBD, Western Sydney and regionally. We also run several Beans for Bean Counters local discussion groups. Events are recognised for CPD (continuing professional development) by our sponsors (CPA Australia and CAANZ).  

Upcoming events are notified to our members via email.

Our event slides are placed on our LinkedIn page at the conclusion of each event (where speakers endorse).

Recent events:

Sept 2022 - Regional Event – Purposeful Partnerships


  • Judith Whelan, ABC
  • Melanie Hawyes, Crown Lands
  • Lisa Anderson, TfNSW

Watch the event recording

May 2022 - Blockchain


  • Scott Waller + Dean Yates, EY
  • Steve Vellas, Blockchain Australia

Watch the event recording

March 2022 - Sustainability in Accounting


  • Katherine Palmer, Executive Director, NSW Treasury
  • Alexandra Bell, Partner, KPMG

Watch the event recording

November 2021 - Bringing our Best Selves


  • Karen Stein, Partner, Deloitte

Watch the event recording

October 2021 - Resilience and Recovery, a Regional Perspective


  • Gary Barnes, Secretary, Department of Regional NSW
  • Shane Fitzsimmons, Commissioner, Resilience NSW
  • Romilly Madew, CEO, Infrastructure Australia

Watch the event recording

Contact us

To contact us, please email finance@comprac.nsw.gov.au